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Medicaid Covered Outpatient Prescription Drug Reimbursement Information by State  

Quarter Ending September 2012 

 
ASP=average sale price, AWP=average wholesale price, WAC=wholesaler acquisition cost, FFS=fee for service, U/C=Usual and Customary, 
State MAC=State Maximum Allowance Cost, FUL=Federal upper limit, 340B=prices charged to covered entities under the Public Health Services 
Act and AAC=actual acquisition cost 
NH=nursing home, FQHC=Federally Qualified Health Centers 
*CMS Approved State Plans or State Source  
Revised – 11/20/2012  
 
Copayment information has been deleted from this reimbursement chart.  You can locate general copayment information at 
http://medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Cost-Sharing/Cost-Sharing.html. 
 

STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of 
Alabama 

Ingredient cost is AAC or if not available WAC plus 
9.2%, or U/C; blood clotting factors: ASP +6% 
 

Dispensing fee is $10.64; $10.00 (tablet 
splitting); $10.00 (long term drug maintenance)  

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Alaska 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 5% Dispensing fee is $3.45 to $11.46 (based on 
pharmacy/Medicaid volume) 
 

STATE MAC No 

State of 
Arizona 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 15%; FQHCs and 
FQHC Look-alikes at the lesser of billed charges or the 
340B ceiling price 
 

Dispensing fee is $2.00 (FFS only); $8.75 
(FQHCs and FQHC Look-alikes)  

STATE MAC No 

State of 
Arkansas 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 20% (generic); AWP 
minus 14% (brand) 
 

Dispensing fee is $5.51  STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
California 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 17%; ASP plus 6%  
(physician administered drugs) 

Dispensing fee is $7.25; $8.00 (legend drugs 
dispensed to residents in skilled nursing facilities 
or intermediate care facilities) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Colorado 

Ingredient cost is based on the AAC of the 
pharmaceutical service, or where there is no AAC 
reimbursement is the lesser of the adjusted WAC or the 
submitted drug ingredient cost 

Dispensing fee is $4.00 (retail pharmacy); $1.89 
(institutional pharmacy) 

STATE MAC Yes 
 

http://medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Cost-Sharing/Cost-Sharing.html
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STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of 
Connecticut 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 72% to step down tiers 
through AWP minus 20 percent based on meeting 
specific invoice pricing criteria (selected multi-source 
brand and generic); AWP minus 16% (brand) 

Dispensing fee is $2.00*  STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Delaware 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 14% (traditional, retail 
independent & retail chain pharmacies); AWP minus 
16% (non-traditional, long term care & specialty 
pharmacies) 
 

Dispensing fee is $3.65  STATE MAC Yes 
 
 

District of 
Columbia 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 3% Dispensing fee is $4.50  STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Florida 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 16.4% or WAC 
plus 1.5%  

Dispensing fee is $3.73 (for non-340B billed 
drugs); $7.50 (340B billed drugs) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Georgia 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 11%; Select Specialty 
Pharmacy Rate for certain disease states that are rare 
and/or complex with a reimbursement methodology 
determined by wholesaler/manufacturer data, a 
comparison to other State agencies’ reimbursement 
information, and publicly available drug prices from 
other payers;  
 
Maximum allowable reimbursement for an injectable 
drug administered by a provider or their designee in an 
outpatient setting is ASP plus 6% as determined on 
January 1st of the applicable year; 
 
Most Favored Nations rate submitted by the provider 
and accepted by the State 
 

Dispensing fee is $4.63 (for-profit pharmacy); 
$4.33 (not-for-profit) 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Hawaii 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 10.5% Dispensing fee is $5.00  STATE MAC Yes 
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STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of  
Idaho 

Ingredient cost is average AAC, or where there is no 
average AAC reimbursement is WAC 

Tiered dispensing fees:  
Less than 39,999 claims a year = $15.11 
Between 40,000 and 69,999 claims per year = 
$12.35 
70,000 or more claims per year = $11.51 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Illinois 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 1% ( multiple source 
legend); WAC plus 1% (single source legend); WAC 
plus 25% (over-the-counter drugs) 
 

Dispensing fee is $6.35 (multiple source); $3.40 
(single source) 

STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of 
Indiana 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 16% (brand); AWP 
minus 20% (generic); Reimbursement for physician 
administered drugs is WAC plus 5% or ASP plus 6% 
for those drugs without a published WAC 
 

Dispensing fee is $3.00  STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of Iowa Ingredient cost is AWP minus 12% Dispensing fee is $6.20 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Kansas 

Ingredient cost is WAC minus 8.6% (generic); WAC 
plus 4.6% (brand); Invoice pricing for drugs without 
WAC or SMAC 
 

Dispensing fee is $3.40  STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of 
Kentucky 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 3.2% (generic); WAC 
plus 2% ; or if WAC is not available, the provider will 
be required to contact the manufacturer for WAC or 
produce an invoice price.  

Dispensing fee is $5.00 (generic); $4.50 (brand)  STATE MAC Yes 
 
 
 
 

State of 
Louisiana 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 13.5% (independent 
pharmacies); AWP minus 15% (chain pharmacies) 
 
Reimbursement for Cost of the Influenza Vaccine at: 
$17. 37 for intramuscular injected influenza vaccine - 
preservative free, $13.22 for intramuscular injected 
influenza vaccine, and $22.03 for intranasal influenza 
vaccine or billed charges, whichever is the lesser 
amount   
 

Dispensing fee is $5.77*  STATE MAC Yes 
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STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of  
Maine 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 15%; AWP minus 17% 
(direct supply); AWP minus 20% (mail order) 

Dispensing fee is $3.35; $1.00 (mail order);  
$4.35 and $5.35 (compounding); $12.50 (filling 
insulin syringe) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Maryland 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 12%, WAC 
plus 8%, direct price plus 8% or distributor price when 
available  

Dispensing fee is $3.51(generic); $2.56(brand); 
$4.46 (generic to NH); $3.51 (brand to NH); 
$6.89 (home IV therapy) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Massachusetts 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 5% (all drugs except 
340B billed drugs); actual acquisition cost (340B billed 
drugs) 
 

Dispensing fee is $3.00 (all drugs except 340B 
billed drugs); $10 (340B billed drugs) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Michigan 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 13.5 % or WAC plus 
3.80 % (independent pharmacy (and chain pharmacies 
fewer than 5 stores); AWP minus 15.1% or WAC plus 
1.88% (chain pharmacies and pharmacies serving 
nursing facilities)  

Dispensing fee is $3.00 (long term care); $2.75 
all other providers; $6.00 (cream, emulsion, 
nasal drops, ointments or optic drugs); $10.00 
(compounded capsules, powders or 
suppositories) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Minnesota 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 2%; 
Ingredient cost is WAC plus 4% (independently owned 
pharmacies located in a small rural or isolated rural 
location)  

Dispensing fee is $3.65 ( plus $0.30 for legend 
unit dose drugs) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Mississippi 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 12% or WAC 
plus 9% (brand); AWP minus 25% (generic) 

Dispensing fee is $3.91 (brand); $4.91 (generic) STATE MAC No 

State of 
Missouri 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 10.43% or 
WAC plus 10% 
 

Dispensing fee is $4.09  STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Montana 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 2% Dispensing fee is $6.40; $12.50 to $22.50 
(compounding)  
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Nebraska 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 11% Dispensing fee is $3.27 to $5.00 (based on 
service delivery, unit dosage or 3rd party 
payors)* 
 

STATE MAC Yes 
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STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of 
Nevada 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 2% Dispensing fee is $4.76; $22.40 daily (home IV 
therapy); $16.80 daily (nursing facility IV 
therapy)  
 

STATE MAC No 

State of New 
Hampshire 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 16% or WAC plus 0.8% Dispensing fee is $1.75; Compound dispensing 
fee is $1.75 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of New 
Jersey 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 17.5% Dispensing fee is $3.73 up to $3.99 (twenty-four 
hour emergency service and impact area 
location)* 
 

STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of New 
Mexico 
 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 14%; WAC as 
submitted to State; manufacturer price as submitted to 
State; pharmacy invoice price as obtained through 
audits 
 

Dispensing fee is $2.50 except in the instances 
when pharmacist uses product selection, in 
which case it is $3.65  

STATE MAC Yes 
 
 
 

State of New 
York 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 17% (brand); AWP 
minus 25% (generic) 
  

Dispensing fee is $3.50 (generic); $3.50 (brand) STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of North 
Carolina 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 6% or AWP minus 
11.67% (if WAC is not available); ASP plus 6% or 
AWP minus 10% (physician administered drugs and 
for the contraceptive drugs Implanon and Mirena); 
WAC plus 6% 
 

Dispensing fee is $4.00 (brand); 4 Tiered 
dispensing fees (generic): 
80% or more claims per quarter = $9.00 
Between 75% and 79.9% claims per quarter = 
$6.50 
Between 70% and 74.9% claims per quarter = 
$4.40 
69.9% and below claims per quarter = $4.00 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of North 
Dakota 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 10% or WAC 
plus 12.5% 

Dispensing fee is $5.60 (generic legend drugs); 
$4.60 (brand legend drugs); 1.5 times the 
allowed amount (EAC, FUL, or MAC) up to a 
maximum of $4.60 (non-legend drugs that are 
prescribed; plus $0.15 per pill (pill splitting) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of Ohio Ingredient cost is WAC plus 7%; AWP minus 14.4% 
(if WAC cannot be determined)  
 

Dispensing fee is $1.80  STATE MAC Yes 
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STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of 
Oklahoma 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 12%; 
WAC + 5.6% (if AWP is not available); ASP +6% 
(injectable drugs) 
 

Dispensing fee is $4.02 STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Oregon 

Ingredient cost for single source and multiple source 
drugs is AAC or where there is no AAC 
reimbursement is WAC  

Dispensing fee varies by claims volume; less 
than 30,000 claims a year is $14.01; between 
30,000 and 49,999 claims per year is $10.14; 
50,000 or more claims per year is $9.68 

STATE MAC No 
 
 
 
 

State of 
Pennsylvania 

Ingredient cost WAC + 3.2% (brand) and WAC 
(generic)  

Dispensing fee is $4.00; $5.00 (compounding) STATE MAC Yes 

State of Rhode 
Island 

Ingredient cost is WAC Dispensing fee is $3.40 (outpatient), $2.85 (long 
term care) 
 

STATE MAC No 

State of South 
Carolina 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 16% or WAC 
plus 0.8% 

Dispensing fee is $3.00 (independent pharmacy); 
$3.00 (institutional pharmacies) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of South 
Dakota 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 15% Dispensing fee is $4.30; $5.55 (unit dose) STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Tennessee 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 13%, MAC or 
FUL for TennCare Pharmacy Network; Specialty 
Pharmacy Rates are set separately   

Dispensing fee for TennCare Pharmacy Network 
is $2.50 (brand); $3.00 (generic); $5.00 (brand 
nursing home) $6.00 (generic nursing home); 
$25 (compound prescriptions) 

STATE MAC Yes 
 
 
 
 

State of Texas Estimated acquisition cost (EAC) is the lower of:   
AWP minus 15%; Net cost to wholesaler plus 12%; 
Average Direct Chain Contract Price; or MAC   

Dispensing fee is  $6.50 STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of Utah Ingredient cost is AWP minus 17.4% Dispensing fee is $3.90 (urban); $4.40 (rural) STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of 
Vermont 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 14.2% (multiple and 
single source); AWP minus 16.5% (large volume out-
of-state mail order specialty pharmacies) 
 

Dispensing fee $4.75 (In-State); $2.50 (Out-of-
State); $19.75 (compound drug fee in-state); 
$17.50 (compound drug fee out-of-state) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Virginia 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 13.1% Dispensing fee is $3.75; $5.00 (unit dose drugs) STATE MAC Yes 
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STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of 
Washington 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 16% (single source 
drugs); AWP minus 16% (multi-source drugs with four 
or fewer manufacturers/labelers); AWP minus 50% 
(multi-source drugs with five or more 
manufacturers/labelers and no MAC or FUL) 
 

Dispensing fee is $4.24 to $5.25 (based on 3-
tiered pharmacy volume) 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of West 
Virginia 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 15% (brand); AWP 
minus 30% (generic) 
 

Dispensing fee is $2.50(brand); $5.30(generic); 
$8.25 (340B billed drugs) 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Wisconsin 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 2% (single source drugs); 
WAC minus 3.8% (multi-source drugs)  

Dispensing fee is $3.44 (brand); $3.94 (generic); 
$0.015 per unit (for repackaging); $9.45 to 
$22.16 (compound drug fee); $9.45 to $40.11 
(pharmaceutical care dispensing fee)  
 

STATE MAC Yes 
 
 

State of 
Wyoming 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 11%  Dispensing fee is $5.00  STATE MAC  No 
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